More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Have Pathfinder or Ponyfinder rules questions, ask here!
User avatar
TheStratovarian
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:18 am

More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby TheStratovarian » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:00 am

A question on the feat, as theres a grey area I seemed to not. (and a search didnt seem to have quite this in there.)

Does a two handed weapon held in the mouth in one hand, and a mental hand use str or int with both hands?

Given the wording, can you use a brawler, monk, or fighter unarmed attack with the mental hands if you have something to count them as 'weapons' Since those three have unarmed strike options for lethal damage? If so, the reach is as per size?

Thats all i can recall oddly atm.

User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:52 pm

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby David » Fri Aug 05, 2016 7:12 am

One: Maximum awkward.
Two: You would use the LOWER of str and int, making it an extremely un-optimal choice.
Three: Sure, you could kung-fu it up with those mental hands, using int instead of str but otherwise acting as normal unarmed attacks.

Reach is normal for your reach.

User avatar
TheStratovarian
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:18 am

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby TheStratovarian » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:19 pm

Thank you for the answers, i asked because of using the advanced horn magic to do what the strong jaw feat effectively amounts to while still benefiting from a shield. You just have to do it a different way.

I also do want to ask because again you can technically do this. Unicorns are forbidden from grabbing and using multi-weapon fighting correct? (One mouth, two mental hands.)

User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:52 pm

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby David » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:42 pm

They are not that coordinated.

User avatar
TheStratovarian
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:18 am

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby TheStratovarian » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:58 pm

Thank you very much, just wanted to be sure.

Oh, question out of the campaign book. The blevik dissident trait is a straight sense motive vs disguise (or bluff) without its racial bonus, or with?

User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:52 pm

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby David » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:20 pm

I'm not sure what the question is.

User avatar
TheStratovarian
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:18 am

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby TheStratovarian » Fri Aug 05, 2016 3:00 pm

Blevik dissident trait, lets you get an automatic sense motive vs the shapeshifters disguise or bluff to see it for what it is.

Im asking if they get an automatic +10 for shapeshifting for this opposed roll, or is it a straight modifier against modifier as it seems to suggest?

User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:52 pm

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby David » Fri Aug 05, 2016 3:55 pm

Does it say they lose their modifier?

User avatar
TheStratovarian
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:18 am

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby TheStratovarian » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:32 pm

It says disguise or bluff vs sense motive, which is vague. It doesnt say anything on external, or intrinsic modifiers like the shapechange/alter self spell itself. Just an opposed roll (reflexive roll, and both sides can simply take 20 and you'd never know having this trait.)

Bluff differs (its about 50/50), but disguise doesn't, its impossible with even ranks and items to even scratch a shapeshifter with the variance of items to hide vs boosting.

So is that a yes or no for clarification please? If its yes, then you have next to no chance against this roll wise, at best, maybe 25% given the even ranks and bonuses. +14 against +4 before mods start? Given that its very cheap to expand it as being +24 against +4, and its impossible to even match it. The dice favor the disguiser almost impossibly so with things, vs what you can do to boost sense motive for this one thing. Thats the reason for asking clarification.

User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:52 pm

Re: More practiced/advanced Horn feat questions (Sorry)

Postby David » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:05 pm

Whatever you're using for disguise can be used to notice it, generally. Only the +10 is there. All this does is give you a chance, that's it. It's more than you'd normally get, especially for free.

You can't take 20 on it since you have no idea you're doing it. You have to choose to take 20, at which point you're patting someone down and looking them over from top to bottom and that may be noticable.

You can't tell how good your disguise check is, also making it unwieldy to take 20 with.


Return to “Rule Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest